View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:45 pm



Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page: 1, 2  Next
 [ANSWERED]Refreshing EvoCam images on Control Pages? 
Author Message

Joined: Apr 01, 2003
Posts: 880
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Post [ANSWERED]Refreshing EvoCam images on Control Pages?
Anyone using Evocam with Indigo? I'm looking for ideas on how to use Evocam with Indigo 5.

_________________
Greg In The Desert, Home Automation on Always Very Busy


Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:05 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Jul 09, 2009
Posts: 321
Location: SW Florida
Post Re: Evocam anyone
I use both Evocam and Indigo but barely integrate them.

The one exception is that if the house is set to "away" mode and a motion sensor is triggered, Indigo will turn on lights near all the cameras then email me shots taken by Evocam. Evocam constantly saves a refreshed image to a folder, so Indigo just sends whatever image is in the Evocam Archive folder at the moment Indigo turns on the lights.


Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:51 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Jul 17, 2010
Posts: 91
Post Re: Evocam anyone
eme jota ce wrote:I use both Evocam and Indigo but barely integrate them.


Same here. Too bad we cannot get the the video feed in the control pages.


Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:47 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Posts: 13210
Location: Texas
Post Re: Evocam anyone
Did you try emailing the EvoCam developer to see if the EC Web server can (or does) provide JPG image snapshots?

_________________
Image


Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:13 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Apr 01, 2003
Posts: 880
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Post Re: Evocam anyone
Evocam will output jpgs to where ever you specify. How should I use this?

_________________
Greg In The Desert, Home Automation on Always Very Busy


Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:19 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Posts: 13210
Location: Texas
Post Re: Evocam anyone
Try this:

1) Have EvoCam output the static JPG image to this folder:

Code: Select all
/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 5/IndigoWebServer/static/

2) Inside Control Page Editor create a new control with displays set to Refreshing Image URL.

3) Specify the image size you want for the control (160x120 works well for 2 side-by-side feeds on iPhone in portrait landscape).

4) In the URL edit field create a URL like (example assumes default Indigo Web server port number of 8176):

Code: Select all
file:///Library/Application%20Support/Perceptive%20Automation/Indigo%205/IndigoWebServer/static/EVOCAM_JPG_IMAGE_NAME

Cool Tip: for iPhone retina resolution display have EvoCam save the JPG image with DOUBLE the width/height that you specified for the control in step #3.

5) Set the refresh rate to Continuous or 1 Second.

_________________
Image


Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:35 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Apr 01, 2003
Posts: 880
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Post Re: Refreshing EvoCam images on Control Pages?
I had to change the port number from what I had set for my server.

Indigo popped up and asked for my server password from the keychain. It shows the correct image in the control page editor but not on the clients (web or iPhone) and I see an error 401 unauthorized and I can't get Indigo to ask me for the password again (assuming I put the wrong password in).

_________________
Greg In The Desert, Home Automation on Always Very Busy


Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:54 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Posts: 13210
Location: Texas
Post Re: Refreshing EvoCam images on Control Pages?
I edited step #4 above with an alternative URL to specify in the Control Page editor that should work better.

_________________
Image


Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:04 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Jul 17, 2010
Posts: 91
Post Re: Refreshing EvoCam images on Control Pages?
It works for me, never thought of doing a file URL. I can see the image in the control page on the Mac and iDevices. I use a one minute refresh for now, will do test with faster refreshes during daylight...


Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:28 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Jul 17, 2010
Posts: 91
Post Re: Refreshing EvoCam images on Control Pages?
I contacted Evocam's support and they gave me the info for having the live stream working on a control page. Tested it with Evocam 4 web server and it works as expected:

- enable web server in Evocam
- in the control page set the item to 'refreshing image url'
- the url should be http://1.2.3.4:8080/1/image.jpg instead of http://1.2.3.4/1/stream.html as indicated in Evocam
- set the refresh rate to 'continuous' in the control page
- voilĂ  !


Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:39 am
Profile

Joined: Apr 01, 2003
Posts: 880
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Post Re: Refreshing EvoCam images on Control Pages?
I used the IP address in the address setting of EvoCam (instead of the 1.2.3.4) and it works great.

_________________
Greg In The Desert, Home Automation on Always Very Busy


Fri Dec 23, 2011 5:11 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Jan 08, 2010
Posts: 199
Location: UK
Post Re: Refreshing EvoCam images on Control Pages?
Matt,
I followed your instructions and have Evocam image showing on my control page, but it does not show up on my iPad or iPhone.


Sat Dec 24, 2011 4:41 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Posts: 13210
Location: Texas
Post Re: Refreshing EvoCam images on Control Pages?
col wrote:Matt, I followed your instructions and have Evocam image showing on my control page, but it does not show up on my iPad or iPhone.

Are you using Indigo Touch on your iPhone/iPad or Safari? If Indigo Touch, then try force quitting it.

What exact URL are you using?

Have you tried DomoPat's suggested URL above?

_________________
Image


Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:50 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Jan 08, 2010
Posts: 199
Location: UK
Post Re: Refreshing EvoCam images on Control Pages?
Thanks Matt,

Using Indigo touch.

Now tried with Domopat's url and working fine

Merry Christmas


Sat Dec 24, 2011 10:23 am
Profile

Joined: Jan 08, 2009
Posts: 29
Post Re: Refreshing EvoCam images on Control Pages?
Within Indigo, I can specify a refreshing URL with the format of http://[user]:[pass]@[site]:[port]/[camera number]/image.jpg, and in the Control Page, it will display the image, but when I go to view that either in a browser or in Indigo Touch, the image does not appear. It appears to be giving me a 401 unauthorized error.


Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:23 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 21 posts ]  Go to page: 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.   Template designed by STSoftware.