View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:43 pm



Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page: 1, 2  Next
 Insteon Temperature Monitoring 
Author Message

Joined: Jul 10, 2004
Posts: 241
Post Insteon Temperature Monitoring
Is there a simple way to monitor and report the temperature in a room (without a thermostat). I have an HVAC zone that includes multiple rooms. I would liek to be able to tell my thermostat on which room to base its on/off stat. For example, the thermostat is in the hall but it would be great if it could cool or heat based on the temperature in the kitchen at certain times of day only (when cooking, for example), Need to get report of Kitchen temperature to Indigo.


Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:55 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Posts: 8364
Location: Austin, Texas
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
Unfortunately, no (at least not yet). It's a BIG device request to Smartlabs and we really hope there will be a solution soon. Search the forums - there are a bunch of different approaches (1-wire sensors, the THUM device, phidgets, etc.).

_________________
Jay (Indigo Support)
Image


Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:55 am
Profile WWW

Joined: May 25, 2009
Posts: 108
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
I use Oregon Scientific wireless temperature sensors. See this post for more information.
http://www.installationexperiences.com/ ... regon.html


Fri Jun 17, 2011 4:59 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Dec 24, 2008
Posts: 388
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
loafbread wrote:I use Oregon Scientific wireless temperature sensors. See this post for more information.
http://www.installationexperiences.com/ ... regon.html


requires it to be plugged in with usb cable

_________________
Indigo 6.x w/ Dual-Band PLM 2413U
Mac OS X 10.6.x Snow Leopard
2006 Mac Mini Core Solo


Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:28 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Dec 24, 2008
Posts: 388
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
pgershon wrote:Is there a simple way to monitor and report the temperature in a room (without a thermostat). I have an HVAC zone that includes multiple rooms. I would liek to be able to tell my thermostat on which room to base its on/off stat. For example, the thermostat is in the hall but it would be great if it could cool or heat based on the temperature in the kitchen at certain times of day only (when cooking, for example), Need to get report of Kitchen temperature to Indigo.



What thermostat do you have? If it is the Venstar or RCS, the manufacturers of those make remote sensors to work with their central thermostats.

_________________
Indigo 6.x w/ Dual-Band PLM 2413U
Mac OS X 10.6.x Snow Leopard
2006 Mac Mini Core Solo


Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:30 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Posts: 8364
Location: Austin, Texas
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
pomprocker wrote:requires it to be plugged in with usb cable


Only the RMS300 - the remotes (up to 3) are wireless.

_________________
Jay (Indigo Support)
Image


Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:59 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Posts: 8364
Location: Austin, Texas
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
pomprocker wrote:If it is the Venstar or RCS, the manufacturers of those make remote sensors to work with their central thermostats.


Note that while the Venstar does support remote sensors, it averages the temps for the remotes and the temp local to the thermostat and that's what gets reported to Indigo via the INSTEON adaptor - so you can't currently get each temp separately. I believe the averaging is done in the thermostat itself vs in the INSTEON adaptor so I don't think there's anything that Smartlabs can do about it - but I could be wrong.

_________________
Jay (Indigo Support)
Image


Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:03 am
Profile WWW

Joined: May 25, 2009
Posts: 108
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
A Venstar T1900 can be configured to ignore the local sensor and use only the remote sensor for temperature control or it can be configured to average the local and remote sensor. The remote sensor is wired to the thermostat but fortunately it uses standard UTP like Category 5e.


Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:36 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Dec 24, 2008
Posts: 388
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
loafbread wrote:A Venstar T1900 can be configured to ignore the local sensor and use only the remote sensor for temperature control or it can be configured to average the local and remote sensor. The remote sensor is wired to the thermostat but fortunately it uses standard UTP like Category 5e.


Same with my RCS unit.

_________________
Indigo 6.x w/ Dual-Band PLM 2413U
Mac OS X 10.6.x Snow Leopard
2006 Mac Mini Core Solo


Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:47 pm
Profile

Joined: Oct 05, 2008
Posts: 276
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
Any solutions for monitoring water temperature? I just put a 220 Insteon relay on my hot tub, but I'd love to have a temperature probe that I could keep in the water to let me know if it goes under N degrees...


Mon Sep 19, 2011 2:57 pm
Profile

Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Posts: 1342
Location: Kalispell, MT
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
There's a floating wireless temp sensor available for the WMR200 weather station.
Might be others out there as well....provided you have a weather station of course.

Carl


Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:57 pm
Profile

Joined: Sep 29, 2011
Posts: 1
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
I've been using TempLincs with HCA on a PC to control ceiling fans around the house, but since moving to Indigo I have been upgrading to all Insteon devices (thanks Indigo, BTW, for costing me over $1000 :-)). After searching through the forums here for an alternative, no one in any thread mentions the I/O Linc High and Low Temperature Threshold Kit http://www.machomestore.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=217&osCsid=3nu13k5o2sff999k4brejqk053 which seems to do what I need. Am I mistaken?


Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:39 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Posts: 8364
Location: Austin, Texas
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
If you only care about crossing pre-set high and/or low thresholds, then yes that kit is perfect for you. Most people who want to do temperature monitoring actually want the temperature reported into Indigo (so you can do more complex logic), which that kit doesn't do.

There may be a new INSTEON device later this year that will do wireless temperature monitoring that will actually report the temp. I really wish Smartlabs would include temp monitoring in their other wireless sensors (Motion Sensor, TriggerLinc) - that's what the Z-Wave crowd seems to be doing.

_________________
Jay (Indigo Support)
Image


Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:48 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Oct 08, 2011
Posts: 81
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
Jay, why did the TempLinc become discontinued do you think? It seemed like a perfect solution.


Sun May 20, 2012 1:15 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Posts: 13243
Location: Texas
Post Re: Insteon Temperature Monitoring
ryanbuckner wrote:Jay, why did the TempLinc become discontinued do you think? It seemed like a perfect solution.

Smarthome would have to answer that question. But right now our recommended solution for monitoring temperatures (and humidity) in multiple locations wirelessly is the the RFXrec433 and Oregon Scientific temperature sensors.

I know Norm will have the RFXrec433 in stock soon, and I know he just got a shipment of temperature sensors in but I'm not sure he has them listed on the site yet. I imagine you could order them though if you emailed him.

_________________
Image


Sun May 20, 2012 2:48 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 19 posts ]  Go to page: 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.   Template designed by STSoftware.