[SOLVED]How to trigger a light to come on at a specific dim

Posted on
Wed Feb 26, 2014 4:20 am
colinpartridge offline

[SOLVED]How to trigger a light to come on at a specific dim

I have a lighting circuit which I want to come on under certain conditions at a certain dim level. The light is triggered by a motion sensor with the following condition..
"All" "of the following rules are true"
"If current time" "is between" "23:01:00" "and" "07:30:00"

The action of this trigger should be to turn on the light at 15% brightness for 3mins. If I ignore the 15% brightness then its very easy, just set the action to turn on the light and then auto off after 3mins. But what if I want the light to always come on at 15% brightness no matter what its level was previously? Also Ideally I would like to control the time from eg 23.00 to 30 mins after sunrise but I cant get my head around the logic to do this, probably because I'm new to this.

Colin

Posted on
Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:49 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: How to trigger a light to come on at a specific dim leve

The key to successfully doing complex automation tasks like this is to fully/thoroughly describe what you want to happen. So you have to think through all of your scenarios and describe them. Your description is missing some key details:

colinpartridge wrote:
The action of this trigger should be to turn on the light at 15% brightness for 3mins. If I ignore the 15% brightness then its very easy, just set the action to turn on the light and then auto off after 3mins.

But the light is already on (at 15%) - so what exactly do you want to happen if you "ignore" it? And when you say "ignore" what exactly does that mean?

colinpartridge wrote:
But what if I want the light to always come on at 15% brightness no matter what its level was previously?