Page 7 of 7

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:24 am
by tinbert
ckeyes888 wrote:
Hey,

I'm trying to mod this script to send the IR command to all LEDs.
...
I've been using it with "external" which has worked for all but one of my devices which for some reason only will work by sending from
iRed using "All LEDs"


The syntax for all is like here:

Code: Select all
perform action (Code "next" of Device "Sony/Tuner") using module "Office" using led "all"


I assume that you have already tried out this syntax?

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:26 am
by tinbert
dnomode wrote:
Hello Tinbert,

I am trying to use iRed2 to control my mitsubishi TV using RS-232 with the GC-100-12. I was not having any luck with iRed2 so I downloaded iTest and it works good, however I'm sending this style of command \xDF\x80p\xF8\x02\x00\x006. How do I send this type of command with iRed?

Thanks
Ed


Hi Ted,

I was not aware that non ASCII-Codes are also used in RS232, so currently there is no way to enter these beasts into the respective field. I'll put this onto the wishlist.

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:33 am
by tinbert
ckeyes888 wrote:
I guess my above post could be better summarized by asking if
it's possible to send some codes to the external LEDs, and some to the internal
LEDs?


I don't understand. You are already using "external" and "internal" in your AppleScripts. Of course, you have to specify this for every code you want to transmit.
You can also target specific LEDs like here:

Code: Select all
   perform action (Code "next" of Device "Sony/Tuner") using module "Office" using led 2


Cheers, Robert

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:26 am
by jay (support)
dnomode wrote:
Is anyone working on any plugins for IR control?


At one point forum user "Perry The Cynic" mentioned that he was working on a plugin for the Global Cache devices, but I don't know the status.

IR devices like the GC/IRtrans are high on our list of priorities for plugins - so I expect that after 5.0 ships and we start prioritizing next steps we'll evaluate what is currently available from 3rd parties and see if there are some holes we need to fill. Nothing to announce yet but just to let you know what the priority is.

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 1:57 pm
by jay (support)
The discussion of using Python to control the Global Cache devices was split off to a new thread.

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 4:24 pm
by ckeyes888
Anyone using an iTach Wifi unit with iRed2 and Indigo?
Having an issue getting iRed2 to connect to it.

Thanks,

Carl

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 12:11 pm
by hamw
IRed has worked very well for several years. However, while I still can send IR to IRed via the IR Trans, I seem to have lost the ability to send from Indigo scripts. Oddly, i looked and my tuner device and its codes were no longer in the iRed app, and I had to find an archived version of it. They are now back in IRed, and when I press a "test" button within the action window it will send the command to the IRTrans and work properly. However, my Indigo scripts no longer work. Here's what I've been using. These commands are executed in a trigger when a control page button press changes a variable.

Any advice would be appreciated. :D

Code: Select all
using terms from application "IndigoServer"
   on RemoteControl(TheRemote, TheDevice, irCode)
      with timeout of 3 seconds
         try
            tell application "iRed2" to perform action Code irCode of Device TheDevice of Remote TheRemote

--I also tried this syntax based on Robert's advice above:       
tell application "iRed2" to perform action (Code irCode of Device TheDevice) using module Remote TheRemote using led "internal"

         on error
            tell application "IndigoServer"
               log "Error - Could not transmit to iRed2 --> Device: " & TheDevice & ", code: " & irCode using type "iRed:"
            end tell
            
         end try
      end timeout
   end RemoteControl
   
   tell application "IndigoServer"
      
         if value of variable "WHA_Radio_Preset" is "1" then
            set value of variable "WHA_Radio_Display" to value of variable "WHA_FM_Preset_1"
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "1")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "Enter")
         end if
         
         if value of variable "WHA_Radio_Preset" is "2" then
            set value of variable "WHA_Radio_Display" to value of variable "WHA_FM_Preset_2"
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "2")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "Enter")
         end if
         
         if value of variable "WHA_Radio_Preset" is "3" then
            set value of variable "WHA_Radio_Display" to value of variable "WHA_FM_Preset_3"
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "3")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "Enter")
         end if
         if value of variable "WHA_Radio_Preset" is "4" then
            set value of variable "WHA_Radio_Display" to value of variable "WHA_FM_Preset_4"
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "4")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "Enter")
         end if
         if value of variable "WHA_Radio_Preset" is "5" then
            set value of variable "WHA_Radio_Display" to value of variable "WHA_FM_Preset_5"
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "5")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "Enter")
         end if
         if value of variable "WHA_Radio_Preset" is "6" then
            set value of variable "WHA_Radio_Display" to value of variable "WHA_FM_Preset_6"
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "6")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "Enter")
         end if
         if value of variable "WHA_Radio_Preset" is "7" then
            set value of variable "WHA_Radio_Display" to value of variable "WHA_FM_Preset_7"
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "7")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "Enter")
         end if
         if value of variable "WHA_Radio_Preset" is "8" then
            set value of variable "WHA_Radio_Display" to value of variable "WHA_FM_Preset_8"
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "8")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "Enter")
         end if
         if value of variable "WHA_Radio_Preset" is "9" then
            set value of variable "WHA_Radio_Display" to value of variable "WHA_FM_Preset_9"
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "9")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "Enter")
         end if
         if value of variable "WHA_Radio_Preset" is "10" then
            set value of variable "WHA_Radio_Display" to value of variable "WHA_FM_Preset_10"
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "1")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "0")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "Enter")
         end if
         if value of variable "WHA_Radio_Preset" is "11" then
            set value of variable "WHA_Radio_Display" to value of variable "WHA_FM_Preset_11"
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "1")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "1")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "Enter")
         end if
         if value of variable "WHA_Radio_Preset" is "12" then
            set value of variable "WHA_Radio_Display" to value of variable "WHA_FM_Preset_12"
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "1")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "2")
            RemoteControl("Sony Tuner", "Sony/Tuner", "Enter")
         end if
   end tell
end using terms from



Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:58 am
by Forrest
I apologize for asking this here, rather than on the iRed forums, but there is no recent activity over there, so I don't know if the software is even still supported.

I was using iRed2 with Indigo to control media equipment for a number of years, and recently upgraded my home automation computer to an older MacBook Pro (intel Core 2 Duo) running OS 10.11 (El Capitan). IRed2 crashed on launch, so I downloaded the newest version, and it now runs, but does not recognize either of my IRTrans transceivers. One is USB and the other is ethernet. IRedTouch on my iPhone accesses the network device just fine, so I know it is configured correctly and working.

I have a number of Apple Scripts in Indigo that I was using to control the A/V components through iRed2, so I'd like to get it working.

Any ideas?
Thanks

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:51 pm
by RickStreet
iRed 2 was updated April 3, 2019!!! I downloaded the newest version. All is working great under Mac OS Mojave.

Rick

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2019 8:37 pm
by hamw
I assume these Apple Scripps will no longer work under Indigo version 7.4? Therefore Indigo 7.4 breaks iRed as a communications interface?

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 6:31 am
by FlyingDiver
hamw wrote:
I assume these Apple Scripps will no longer work under Indigo version 7.4? Therefore Indigo 7.4 breaks iRed as a communications interface?


Not quite. You can still run external AppleScript files, but not embedded ApplesScripts. So scripts targeting the iRed2 application should still work.

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 7:07 am
by hamw
But scripts like the ones above that use a variable to trigger an action will no longer work, correct?

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 8:18 am
by FlyingDiver
hamw wrote:
But scripts like the ones above that use a variable to trigger an action will no longer work, correct?


Correct. It would have to be rewritten in Python, but the Python script could call an external AppleScript if needed for the actual control of the iRed2 device.

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 8:48 am
by jay (support)
Yep, this is probably a good example of a script that can use the pyapplescript handler calling functionality to split it's functionality into the Python part, which performs the logic, and an AppleScript part which does the AppleScript calls (specifically, the RemoteControl handler in the script above).

Re: iRed2 users, UNITE!

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2022 1:10 am
by dtich
Has anyone taken a stab at an iRed2 plugin? Any beta versions kicking around? :D

A guy can dream.