iTunes Help

Posted on
Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:33 pm
MikeLuck offline

iTunes Help

I'm just getting into using scripts and need some help...

I just purchased a couple of Insteon Motion Detectors and what I am trying to do is place them outside and trigger an alarm. I have it working to trigger the backyard lights when motion is made after dark but I also want it to do is to run iTunes and play an alarm sound on one of my Airport Express units. I was even thinking of triggering a barking dog on a powered set of speakers in the garage kind of like the old X10 Rex.

I need help with a script that will:

1) run iTunes
2) select an Airport Express for speaker output
3) select an album or track
4) play

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Posted on
Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:05 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin

(No subject)

Good news and bad news. Playing a specific track is really easy:

Code: Select all
tell application "iTunes"
   play track named "Leave It" of playlist "Classic Rock" with once
end tell

Bad news is after looking through the script dictionary, I don't believe you can control the output. All is not lost, however: many of us here on the forums use Airfoil, which is a great utility for directing ANY sound to Airport Expresses, Apple TVs, and even other computers. And, it's fully scriptable. So, if you were using it, this is what your script would look like:

tell application "Airfoil"
   disconnect from every speaker
   connect to speaker "Whole House" --use the right speaker name here
   set (current audio source) to application source named "iTunes"
end tell
   -- obviously, use your track name and playlist here
   play track named "Leave It" of playlist "Classic Rock" with once
end tell

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am
MikeLuck offline

(No subject)

Jay,