"Error sending apple event to self" message in RCS

Posted on
Sun Nov 20, 2005 1:44 pm
sparker offline
Posts: 155
Joined: Oct 30, 2003
Location: Broomfield, Colorado

"Error sending apple event to self" message in RCS

Hi there,

I've been running Indigo with full RCS support and operation at my house for quite some time now (I'd guess over a year, but can't confirm that) and all of a sudden last Sunday (November 12th, 2005), I start getting "Error sending apple event to self" messages when ever I run scripts to set/read from the RCS controller. Here's one sample script:
Code: Select all
property housecode : "P"
SetSystemMode(housecode,"heat")
delay(3)
SetSetpoint(housecode,64)
delay(3)
GetSystemMode(housecode)
delay(3)
GetSetpoint(housecode)
delay(3)
GetTemp(housecode)

and the resulting output from the session log:
Code: Select all
12:17:20 PM, 11/20/05
   RCS                system mode is now set to [heat-P].
   Action Group       HVAC - Heat to 64
   Sent X10           "HVAC 4" preset dim to 3
   Error              error sending apple event to self
   Sent X10           "HVAC 2" preset dim to 90
   Error              error sending apple event to self
   Sent X10           "HVAC 5" preset dim to 6
   Error              error sending apple event to self
   Sent X10           "HVAC 5" preset dim to 3
   Error              error sending apple event to self
   Sent X10           "HVAC 5" preset dim to 0
   Received X10       "HVAC 14" preset dim to 94
   RCS                The homeTemperature is 65 degrees.


Any idea why this is occurring "all of a sudden". I travel quite a bit and don't remember updating anything with Indigo last Saturday (the 12th), but it's possible I tweaked something incorrectly.

TIA for any advice.

Steve

--
Steve Parker
X10 user from the early 80's
Fully converted to Insteon in 2013 (looking to migrate away now)
Proud Indigo owner since the beginning... :)

Posted on
Sun Nov 20, 2005 1:45 pm
sparker offline
Posts: 155
Joined: Oct 30, 2003
Location: Broomfield, Colorado

One more quick note

One more quick piece of info. I have unplugged both the RCS and PowerLinc boxes, and rebooted the G5, and I'm still seeing the errors...

TIA (again),

Steve

--
Steve Parker
X10 user from the early 80's
Fully converted to Insteon in 2013 (looking to migrate away now)
Proud Indigo owner since the beginning... :)

Posted on
Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:04 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21411
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: "Error sending apple event to self" message in

Hi Steve,

Bizarre. This sounds like a similar problem to what was reported in this thread. But you are not getting the "Can't make "1,5" into a number" error message in the log as well, so I don't think it is the exact same problem.

Do you have a startup Trigger Action that calls InitializeHVAC()? If so, do you get any errors when that is executing?

If you have not yet, you should update your versions of the RCS attachment, TempLinc attachment and time stamp attachment scripts available on the Indigo Script Library page. You'll need to hand-merge your configuration of those scripts (ex: rcsNameHouseCodeMap inside RCS attachment).

Let me know how it goes.

Matt

Posted on
Sun Nov 20, 2005 5:01 pm
sparker offline
Posts: 155
Joined: Oct 30, 2003
Location: Broomfield, Colorado

Re: "Error sending apple event to self" message in

support wrote:
<<<<<SNIP>>>>>Do you have a startup Trigger Action that calls InitializeHVAC()? If so, do you get any errors when that is executing?

No, never had anything like that. I can do it if required, but it's never seemed to be needed before...
support wrote:
If you have not yet, you should update your versions of the RCS attachment, TempLinc attachment and time stamp attachment scripts available on the Indigo Script Library page. You'll need to hand-merge your configuration of those scripts (ex: rcsNameHouseCodeMap inside RCS attachment).

I was alredy running the latest versions of the RCS Attachment and Time Stamp Attachment scripts. I've never hand the "TempLinc Attachment" script installed (I do now)...

I'll put in the InitializeHVAC() call to see what that will do.

Steve

--
Steve Parker
X10 user from the early 80's
Fully converted to Insteon in 2013 (looking to migrate away now)
Proud Indigo owner since the beginning... :)

Posted on
Mon Nov 21, 2005 9:16 am
sparker offline
Posts: 155
Joined: Oct 30, 2003
Location: Broomfield, Colorado

issue update

I spent quite a bit of time on this yesterday, and just realized what I did on November 12th. I upgraded to OS X 10.4.3.

Is anybody running an RCS under 10.4.3? I'll go hunt through the release notes tonight to see if I can find if they changed any scripting commands.

Steve

--
Steve Parker
X10 user from the early 80's
Fully converted to Insteon in 2013 (looking to migrate away now)
Proud Indigo owner since the beginning... :)

Posted on
Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:27 pm
sparker offline
Posts: 155
Joined: Oct 30, 2003
Location: Broomfield, Colorado

Re: issue update

sparker wrote:
I spent quite a bit of time on this yesterday, and just realized what I did on November 12th. I upgraded to OS X 10.4.3.

Is anybody running an RCS under 10.4.3? I'll go hunt through the release notes tonight to see if I can find if they changed any scripting commands.

Steve


Interestingly enough, here's a quote from the 10.4.3 Release notes at http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=301984.
Addresses performance issues affecting three AppleScript commands: do shell script, system info, and delay.

Since I use delay in all my scripts, I'll see if I can find further information on what they did to "delay".... Maybe that has something to do with it.

Does anybody out there know how/where to find out what Apple did to the "delay" command?

Steve

--
Steve Parker
X10 user from the early 80's
Fully converted to Insteon in 2013 (looking to migrate away now)
Proud Indigo owner since the beginning... :)

Posted on
Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:40 pm
dtich offline
Posts: 798
Joined: Sep 24, 2005

(No subject)

this may be your issue. maybe try making the delay run in a handler as one poster did... let us know what you find.

http://bbs.applescript.net/viewtopic.php?pid=47979

Posted on
Mon Nov 21, 2005 5:09 pm
sparker offline
Posts: 155
Joined: Oct 30, 2003
Location: Broomfield, Colorado

(No subject)

dtich wrote:
this may be your issue. maybe try making the delay run in a handler as one poster did... let us know what you find.

http://bbs.applescript.net/viewtopic.php?pid=47979


dtich,

Thanks alot for the info. That fixed it. Interestingly enough, watching it now, it seems to be running "slower" than before (with a true two second delay). Maybe my "delay" was always broken before, and Apple finally started "enforcing" something that used to be "assumed". The weird part is that only the last two statements threw the error (I didn't get four errors, I got only two.) Anyway, now that it's working, I'm happy.

If you're ever between Denver and Boulder, give me a shout. I'll buy you a beer!

Just for historical "thoroughness", and future text searches, here's what the code looked like before:
Code: Select all
property housecode : "P"
SetSystemMode(housecode,"heat")
delay(3)
SetSetpoint(housecode,64)
delay(3)
GetSystemMode(housecode)
delay(3)
GetSetpoint(housecode)
delay(3)
GetTemp(housecode)

and here's what it looks like now:
Code: Select all
property housecode : "P"
SetSystemMode(housecode,"heat")
my run_delay(3)
SetSetpoint(housecode,64)
my run_delay(3)
GetSystemMode(housecode)
my run_delay(3)
GetSetpoint(housecode)
my run_delay(3)
GetTemp(housecode)

on run_delay(the_delay)
  try
    run script ("delay " & the_delay)
  end try
end run_delay

--
Steve Parker
X10 user from the early 80's
Fully converted to Insteon in 2013 (looking to migrate away now)
Proud Indigo owner since the beginning... :)

Posted on
Mon Nov 21, 2005 5:32 pm
dtich offline
Posts: 798
Joined: Sep 24, 2005

(No subject)

np. perhaps the syntax of the command has changed and no longer wants parentheses? other than that, i can't see why putting it in a handler would make it run any differently really. but it works, so... and i did think it was a good idea to make it a handler as the user did so when things have to change again there's only one line to tweak. sensible.

Posted on
Mon Nov 21, 2005 7:51 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21411
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

(No subject)

Great -- glad you all tracked down the culprit. Hopefully, it'll get fixed correctly in OS X 10.4.4.

Matt

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests