Plugin Request: Geofence

Posted on
Thu Aug 10, 2023 9:51 pm
whmoorejr offline

I'm new to your plugin., and I'm loving it.... The recent change to FindFriends bricked my ability to use indigo to location track my kids. That also forced me to figure out how to install Life360 on multiple older iPhones. For now, the app is working... even though I get a pop-up every now and then telling me the app version is no longer supported. (6 kids, I'm not forking out $$$ for 6 new phones).

Anyway... once I got all the phones set up, I was pleased with how quickly I could add L360 devices in Indigo and all the data you get from each device.

What I'd like to also do (on the indigo side) is leverage places or figure out a way to have a geofence device.

The closest I've come up with (untested) is using the Group Change Listener as a trigger to watch all the devices filtering "member_360_location" and save the triggering device to a variable. Then it gets a little tricky... A condition where any life 360 device "Life 360 Location Name" is equal to "Home" (one line per device)
Now I should have an action that will fire whenever anyone enters the "Home" location.

To use a non-place.... I think I'd have to use a condition python script to look at all plugin devices for the lat/long of a "geofence". So any L360 device moves, the trigger fires and looks at conditions to see if any of the devices have a matching lat/long. (or a partial match.... reduce the places after the decimal of the "geofence" to increase detection radius.

Anyway... other than a crazy python scripted trigger thing... any chance a geofence solution could be added to the plugin?

Bill
My Plugin: My People

Posted on
Fri Aug 11, 2023 6:20 am
ryanbuckner offline

Re: Plugin Request: Geofence

I'm certainly open to it. Are you envisioning definition of the fence in Indigo (outside of the plugin), in the plugin (as a new device type), or within the Life360 app (places) ?

Posted on
Fri Aug 11, 2023 12:47 pm