Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

Posted on
Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:29 am
anothersphere offline
Posts: 158
Joined: Jul 01, 2009

Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

Indigo 6b7 + iTach WiFi.

So I have added a network device that corresponds to the iTach WiFi device.
Next I try to add the actual emitters/receivers on that iTach as devices.
The address menu when I try to edit their properties contains '--invalid--'

Below is a snippet around this event:
Code: Select all
4/04/2013 11:08:20 PM
  Cynical Caché Error             WiFi2IR unavailable: (60, 'Operation timed out')
  Cynical Caché                   WiFi2IR ready with 3 device(s)

4/04/2013 11:08:40 PM
  Cynical Caché                   getDeviceStateList <indigo.Device object at 0x4394eb0> iremitter 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   getDisplayStateId <indigo.Device object at 0x4394eb0> iremitter 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   getIOMConfigUiValues iremitter 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   mapping device "new device" 1051602280(iremitter)
  Cynical Caché                   getIOMConfigUiXml iremitter 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   endIOMConfigUi iremitter 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   new device reconfiguring because xaddress has changed
  Cynical Caché Error             field "xaddress": missing value
  Cynical Caché Error             execution of None abandonned

4/04/2013 11:09:21 PM
  Cynical Caché                   getDeviceStateList <indigo.RelayDevice object at 0x4394eb0> relay 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   getDisplayStateId <indigo.RelayDevice object at 0x4394eb0> relay 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   new device reconfiguring because xaddress has changed
  Cynical Caché Error             field "xaddress": missing value
  Cynical Caché Error             execution of None abandonned
  Cynical Caché                   getIOMConfigUiValues iremitter 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   getIOMConfigUiXml iremitter 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   endIOMConfigUi iremitter 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   new device reconfiguring because xaddress has changed
  Cynical Caché Error             field "xaddress": missing value
  Cynical Caché Error             execution of None abandonned
  Cynical Caché                   getIOMConfigUiValues iremitter 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   getIOMConfigUiXml iremitter 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   endIOMConfigUi iremitter 1051602280
  Cynical Caché                   new device reconfiguring because xaddress has changed
  Cynical Caché Error             field "xaddress": missing value
  Cynical Caché Error             execution of None abandonned


Yesterday I got further than this and was actually learning off the device, but got an error trying to send.
It coincided with a pile of errors in the log.
So I tried to delete the device and start again.
I even tried restarting indigo after trashing the prefs file for the plugin.

Code: Select all
2013-04-03 23:02:06   Cynical Caché   plugin starting asyn operation
2013-04-03 23:02:06   Cynical Caché   using no IR database
2013-04-03 23:02:12   Action Group   IR test sky on
2013-04-03 23:02:12   Cynical Caché Error   ignoring sendIR action for unready device Wifi2IR-emitter-3
2013-04-03 23:02:19   Action Group   IR test sky on
2013-04-03 23:02:19   Cynical Caché Error   ignoring sendIR action for unready device Wifi2IR-emitter-3
2013-04-03 23:02:22   Action Group   IR test sky on
2013-04-03 23:02:22   Cynical Caché Error   ignoring sendIR action for unready device Wifi2IR-emitter-3
2013-04-03 23:02:22   Action Group   IR test sky on
2013-04-03 23:02:22   Cynical Caché Error   ignoring sendIR action for unready device Wifi2IR-emitter-3
2013-04-03 23:02:46   Application   Reloading plugin "Cynical Caché 1.1.1"
2013-04-03 23:02:46   Application   Stopping plugin "Cynical Caché 1.1.1" (pid 24216)
2013-04-03 23:02:47   Cynical Caché   shutdown sensed
2013-04-03 23:02:47   Cynical Caché   Wifi2IR-emitter-3 stopping
2013-04-03 23:02:48   Application   Stopped plugin "Cynical Caché 1.1.1"
2013-04-03 23:02:48   Application   Starting plugin "Cynical Caché 1.1.1" (pid 24321)
2013-04-03 23:02:52   Application   Started plugin "Cynical Caché 1.1.1"
2013-04-03 23:02:52   Cynical Caché   mapping device "Wifi2IR-emitter-3" 584638366(iremitter)
2013-04-03 23:02:52   Cynical Caché   Wifi2IR-emitter-3 starting
2013-04-03 23:02:52   Cynical Caché Error   error:
  File ".../Server Plugin/cyin/plug.py", line 191, in deviceStartComm
    iom.start_object(io, io.deviceTypeId)
  File ".../Server Plugin/cyin/iom.py", line 116, in start_object
    iom.start()
  File ".../Server Plugin/irdev.py", line 77, in start
    if self.set_netdev():
  File ".../Server Plugin/irdev.py", line 87, in set_netdev
    return self.set_hostdev(cyin.device(int(hostid)))
  File ".../Server Plugin/cyin/devstate.py", line 89, in set_hostdev
    assert dev != self            # can't host yourself
AssertionError


Hopefully someone can help.
I bought the WiFi2IR device to control a remote controlled AC and am very keen to get this working.

Martin Miller

Auckland - New Zealand

Posted on
Tue Apr 16, 2013 11:37 pm
anothersphere offline
Posts: 158
Joined: Jul 01, 2009

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

Can anyone help me please? :(

Martin Miller

Auckland - New Zealand

Posted on
Thu Apr 18, 2013 8:12 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21426
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

I'm not sure what is going wrong. I imagine Perry will chime in here eventually.

It sounds like you already did some of this, but I would try in this order:

1) Deleting the devices from Indigo.
2) Stop the plugin.
3) Delete the plugin prefs file.
4) Start the plugin.
5) Re-Define all the devices.

Image

Posted on
Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:55 pm
anothersphere offline
Posts: 158
Joined: Jul 01, 2009

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

I am pretty sure I already did that, but I will try it again.

Martin Miller

Auckland - New Zealand

Posted on
Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:13 pm
anothersphere offline
Posts: 158
Joined: Jul 01, 2009

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

matt (support) wrote:
...I would try in this order:
1) Deleting the devices from Indigo.
2) Stop the plugin.
3) Delete the plugin prefs file.
4) Start the plugin.
5) Re-Define all the devices.


#3b Restart the machine. Without doing so it was not working.
So, I am now back with one network device and two child emitters (I actually only need one).
Hopefully I can carry on and do stuff with them!

Martin Miller

Auckland - New Zealand

Posted on
Thu Apr 25, 2013 4:23 pm
Perry The Cynic offline
Posts: 836
Joined: Apr 07, 2008

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

#3b Restart the machine. Without doing so it was not working.

That could probably have been "quit Indigo and relaunch it" instead.

Sorry for being off for a while; glad you could make it work. Was that on Indigo 5 or 6?

Cheers
-- perry

Posted on
Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:31 pm
anothersphere offline
Posts: 158
Joined: Jul 01, 2009

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

Perry The Cynic wrote:
...Was that on Indigo 5 or 6?...

- Indigo 6 beta.

All good now. I have it controlling a Mitsubishi Hi-wall heat-pump/air-conditioner.
Works great! Now I can pretty much control all I need to remotely, except the family...

Martin Miller

Auckland - New Zealand

Posted on
Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:15 pm
Perry The Cynic offline
Posts: 836
Joined: Apr 07, 2008

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

All good now. I have it controlling a Mitsubishi Hi-wall heat-pump/air-conditioner.
Works great! Now I can pretty much control all I need to remotely, except the family...

You need to install the remote transponders on those, you know. :-)

Cheers
-- perry

Posted on
Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:50 pm
anothersphere offline
Posts: 158
Joined: Jul 01, 2009

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

Yes, looking at modifying pet shock collars. :twisted:

:lol:

Martin Miller

Auckland - New Zealand

Posted on
Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:58 pm
anothersphere offline
Posts: 158
Joined: Jul 01, 2009

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

So I have an ongoing but not overly urgent issue.

The plugin loses connection to the device when:
    Our cleaner (maid) unplugs the device to do the vacuuming - the device does not reconnect when plugged back in, I have to restart the plugin;
    Some restart events seem to leave it disconnected;

Any best way to reconnect?
Is there are way to instigate a plugin reset by trigger/schedule/script?

Martin Miller

Auckland - New Zealand

Posted on
Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:41 pm
Perry The Cynic offline
Posts: 836
Joined: Apr 07, 2008

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

anothersphere wrote:
The plugin loses connection to the device when:
Our cleaner (maid) unplugs the device to do the vacuuming - the device does not reconnect when plugged back in, I have to restart the plugin;
Some restart events seem to leave it disconnected

The plugin is meant to soft-fail the device upon disconnect, and periodically retry the connection. Note that as time passes, it retries less and less often; if it was off for an hour, it may take 10 minutes to bring it back up. But it should happen eventually. If it doesn't, please turn on debugging and send me an Indigo log: Reload the plugin, disconnect the device, wait a while, reconnect it, and wait at least 10 minutes.
Any best way to reconnect?

You can simply take the device offline and then back online - toggle the Comm Enabled checkbox for the device, or write an action group.
Is there are way to instigate a plugin reset by trigger/schedule/script?

Yes, but it requires Python. Do something like this:
Code: Select all
plugin = indigo.server.getPlugin("org.cynic.indigo.gcnet")
plugin.restart(waitUntilDone=False)

But you really shouldn't have to restart the plugin to get your device back; recycling the device should suffice. (Unless there's a bug, naturally.)

Cheers
-- perry

Posted on
Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:39 pm
anothersphere offline
Posts: 158
Joined: Jul 01, 2009

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

Perry The Cynic wrote:
You can simply take the device offline and then back online - toggle the Comm Enabled checkbox for the device, or write an action group.


Hmm, I have created a schedule that detects its gone awol (unavailable), however the remedial actions seem limited to:
    Send IR Signal
    Clear IR Transmissions
    Perform Script

Do I have to write a script to try and get a connection re-established?

Martin Miller

Auckland - New Zealand

Posted on
Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:20 am
Perry The Cynic offline
Posts: 836
Joined: Apr 07, 2008

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

Enabling/disabling actions are not plugin specific; they're in the Server Actions submenu of the action Type: menu.

Cheers
-- perry

Posted on
Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:33 pm
anothersphere offline
Posts: 158
Joined: Jul 01, 2009

Re: Cynical Cache - falling over and taking the whole game

I am having a new issue with Cynical Cache, it is periodically (randomly, daily) going unavailable.
That it is doing so is the last log entry and it pulls indigo over totally.
I have a trigger to detect this event which does not appear to actually execute (although it does if I manually make cache unavailable).
Keep alive is on, debugging is on but still no more detail.
What modules should I enable in the plug-in logging for more detail?

Martin Miller

Auckland - New Zealand

Posted on
Sun Jan 12, 2014 5:32 pm
Perry The Cynic offline
Posts: 836
Joined: Apr 07, 2008

Re: Cynical Cache - cant get to second base

Keep alive is on, debugging is on but still no more detail.
What modules should I enable in the plug-in logging for more detail?

ir.gcache.gcnet.

Do you know of any way to provoke your problem, or does it seem to happen when something predictable is going on?

Cheers
-- perry

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests