Installation instructions need more detail

Posted on
Sat Jun 16, 2012 7:38 am
wjlevin offline

Installation instructions need more detail

Hello:

I'm new at using plugins - so maybe that's my problem. I'm using Indigo 5.1.2. I double-clicked on the Cynical plugin 1.01 and ended up with a screen asking me to enter something for debug mode. I'm not sure what that is. I clicked save without entering anything and it refused it - a red sentence at the bottom told me to hover over something in red to tell me what's wrong. But there was nothing in red. I deselected degub mode and hit save - still the red sentence. I click cancel.

I double clicked on another copy of the plug-in and it told me that it was already installed - and, indeed, I see it in the plugin window.

I went to select configure ... but only saw the window with the debug information.

I'm now looking at this page: http://www.cynic.org/indigo/plugins/onl ... tml#server

I'm trying to configure things - particularly the Server - and I'm completely lost. I don't see how I can do this configuration.

Where am I going wrong?

Many thanks for this plugin - i'm sure it'll be great once I get it working.

Thanks

Wayne

Posted on
Sat Jun 16, 2012 9:33 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: Installation instructions need more detail

Hi Wayne,

That first settings dialog that is shown is the plugin's setting dialog, but in this case it doesn't have any global settings except some options to turn on debug logging, so just ignore that dialog.

The plugin works by letting the user create new SecuritySpy plugin device types. See the Devices section of the plugin's web page you linked to. There are two different device types the plugin can create: 1 for each SecuritySpy server (you most likely just have one instance of SecuritySpy running), and then another device type that is used to create each camera.