REMOTE debugging with PyCharm

Posted on
Sun Apr 28, 2024 11:45 am
brettlid offline
Posts: 61
Joined: Nov 28, 2017
Location: Fort Worth, TX

REMOTE debugging with PyCharm

Remote debugging with PyCharm

I was able to successfully get the debugging to work with PyCharm, although not without some errors. (It's pretty cool!)

I decided to give the experimental remote debugging a try. Im not sure what to use as the local and remote path mappings. I've tried lots of different combinations but nothing seems to work. Do use the paths from the local machine's perspective... or do I use a path from the remote computer's perspective?

https://wiki.indigodomo.com/doku.php?id=setting_up_a_development_environment#configure_remote_debugging_experimental

examples would be really helpful from anyone who's got it working.

Thanks, Brett
Last edited by brettlid on Mon Apr 29, 2024 11:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Sun Apr 28, 2024 12:50 pm
ryanbuckner offline
Posts: 1081
Joined: Oct 08, 2011
Location: Northern Virginia

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Thanks for going dow this road? Would you mind recording or documenting your step by step? A lot of us would love to use this

Posted on
Sun Apr 28, 2024 2:25 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6781
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

The step by step instructions here should be all you need to get it going. If you can't get it working after following these instructions, post back.

https://wiki.indigodomo.com/doku.php?id=setting_up_a_development_environment#pycharm

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Sun Apr 28, 2024 2:48 pm
brettlid offline
Posts: 61
Joined: Nov 28, 2017
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Yep followed those instructions. My questions specifically are related to the path mapping. What do I use? A working example would be great. The standard debugging path maps don’t work.

Thanks Brett

Posted on
Sun Apr 28, 2024 3:57 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6781
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

I can post an example from my environment, but it's set up using those instructions.

I take the Indigo plugin file from my development folder and create a symbolic link to it in the Indigo plugins folder.
Code: Select all
ln -s /Users/Dave/PycharmProjects/Announcements/Announcements.indigoPlugin /Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 2023.2/Plugins

Then in PyCharm path mapping, I put the path to my development environment under local path:
Code: Select all
/Users/Dave/PycharmProjects/Announcements/Announcements.indigoPlugin

and the path to the plugins folder where the symbolic link now resides under remote path.
Code: Select all
/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 2023.2/Plugins/Announcements.indigoPlugin

That has always worked for me. If you have done this and it's not working, then I'm guessing something else is to blame.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Mon Apr 29, 2024 9:28 am
brettlid offline
Posts: 61
Joined: Nov 28, 2017
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Is that all done on the local machine or the remote machine?

Thanks, Brett

Posted on
Mon Apr 29, 2024 9:50 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6781
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

All of it is done on the SAME machine.

As far as I know, nobody has worked out a way to work debugging over the network -- although I might have missed something on that.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Mon Apr 29, 2024 9:56 am
brettlid offline
Posts: 61
Joined: Nov 28, 2017
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Last edited by brettlid on Mon Apr 29, 2024 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Mon Apr 29, 2024 10:03 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6781
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

I've never tried that setup (and clearly never read that far down the page). I've always done remote debugging from the machine running Indigo.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Mon Apr 29, 2024 11:30 am
brettlid offline
Posts: 61
Joined: Nov 28, 2017
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Re: Remote debugging with PyCharm

Thanks anyways!

Posted on
Mon Apr 29, 2024 12:42 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18247
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: REMOTE debugging with PyCharm

The path setup would be the same as described above: local path would be the path to the plugin on the Mac you're developing from, the remote path would be the full path to the plugin on the remote Mac.

Note, this is still quite experimental and is not a configuration that any of us actually develop with, so YMMV. I got it working at one point, but any number of environmental and config settings could cause issues (including newer versions of PyCharm since we haven't tested it in a while).

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Apr 29, 2024 1:48 pm
brettlid offline
Posts: 61
Joined: Nov 28, 2017
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Re: REMOTE debugging with PyCharm

Thanks!

That's what I was looking for. I didn't want to keep trying stuff if I didn't have it set up right.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests