Looking for ideas for integrating multiple inputs

Posted on
Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:41 pm
TomJ offline

Looking for ideas for integrating multiple inputs

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I’m ready to pull the trigger on an Indigo/Insteon/MacMini setup, however I have one remaining issue that I need some help with.

A little background: I’m an old school engineer that has long been interested in home automation. Over the years, I’ve wired up my house with discrete logic for mailbox, garage door, and gate switches, etc. From the beginning I hoped I would eventually incorporate software control for additional capabilities. Periodically over the last few years, I would research the current state of home automation and for one reason or another declined to jump in. Of course, the more I research, the more I learn and maybe now is the time. My reasoning:

1) The family of Insteon devices is… acceptable. I wish there were more choices but I can live with it.

2) There is a large base of knowledgeable individuals to tap for solutions to problems. In addition, Insteon/Indigo seem to be well suited for one-of-a-kind projects and tinkering.

3) An Indigo/Mac based solution is perfect for me since I have recently completed a exorcising of Windows from my home. Our family of four includes 4 Macs and 3 iPhones and I couldn’t be happier. I would, of course, use individual Insteon devices for lighting control, but the iPhone opens up unlimited possibilities for remote control.

4) Home lighting control is important but it is really secondary to my interest in sensing and controlling real world devices.

OK, so now you understand my reasoning. Now for my existing wiring: